Which peptide drugs are in FDA shortage right now?
As of 2026-09-23, the FDA lists 12 peptide drugs across 39 shortage records: 14 with a current shortage and 25 marked to be discontinued.
Why these drugs are in shortage
Causes as stated by the FDA. The agency records a reason for 7 of the 39 peptide records below.
GLP-1 and metabolic peptides
The class where shortage status has driven most compounding litigation and FDA enforcement.
Semaglutide
3 record(s): 0 current, 3 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedRYBELSUSfirst posted 06/04/2026 · updated 06/04/2026 · (New) · discontinued 06/04/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. These products will be replaced by Ozempic® (semaglutide) tablets.PresentationRybelsus®, Tablet, 3 mg (NDC 0169-4303-30)Dosage formTabletRouteORALCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerNovo Nordisk Pharmaceutical Industries, LPTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0169-4303-30Product NDC0169-4303Active substanceSEMAGLUTIDEUNII53AXN4NNHXRxCUI2200644FDA applicationNDA213051Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedRYBELSUSfirst posted 06/04/2026 · updated 06/04/2026 · (New) · discontinued 06/04/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. These products will be replaced by Ozempic® (semaglutide) tablets.PresentationRybelsus®, Tablet, 7 mg (NDC 0169-4307-30)Dosage formTabletRouteORALCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerNovo Nordisk Pharmaceutical Industries, LPTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0169-4307-30Product NDC0169-4307Active substanceSEMAGLUTIDEUNII53AXN4NNHXRxCUI2200644FDA applicationNDA213051Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedRYBELSUSfirst posted 06/04/2026 · updated 06/04/2026 · (New) · discontinued 06/04/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug. These products will be replaced by Ozempic® (semaglutide) tablets.PresentationRybelsus®, Tablet, 14 mg (NDC 0169-4314-30)Dosage formTabletRouteORALCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerNovo Nordisk Pharmaceutical Industries, LPTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0169-4314-30Product NDC0169-4314Active substanceSEMAGLUTIDEUNII53AXN4NNHXRxCUI2200644FDA applicationNDA213051Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
Liraglutide
11 record(s): 9 current, 2 to be discontinued · 6 available, 3 limited- Current shortage AvailableLIRAGLUTIDEfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 09/18/2026 · (Reverified)PresentationLiraglutide, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9144-02)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyHikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.ManufacturerHikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc.Therapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0143-9144-02Product NDC0143-9144Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI897122FDA applicationANDA215503Contact800-631-2174FDA labelView FDA label
- Current shortage AvailableLIRAGLUTIDEfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 09/18/2026 · (Reverified)PresentationLiraglutide, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0143-9144-03)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyHikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.ManufacturerHikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc.Therapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0143-9144-03Product NDC0143-9144Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI897122FDA applicationANDA215503Contact800-631-2174FDA labelView FDA label
- Current shortage AvailableLIRAGLUTIDEfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 08/27/2026 · (Revised)PresentationLiraglutide, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-563-84)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyMeitheal Pharmaceuticals, Inc.ManufacturerMeitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc.Therapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC71288-563-84Product NDC71288-563Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI897122FDA applicationANDA218115Contact844-824-8426FDA labelView FDA label
- Current shortage AvailableLIRAGLUTIDEfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 08/27/2026 · (Revised)PresentationLiraglutide, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-563-85)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyMeitheal Pharmaceuticals, Inc.ManufacturerMeitheal Pharmaceuticals Inc.Therapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC71288-563-85Product NDC71288-563Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI897122FDA applicationANDA218115Contact844-824-8426FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedSAXENDAfirst posted 08/25/2026 · updated 08/25/2026 · (New) · discontinued 08/25/2026FDA guidance: Product will be available until discontinuation in January 2027; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugPresentationSaxenda®, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0169-2800-15)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerNovo Nordisk Pharmaceutical Industries, LPTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0169-2800-15Product NDC0169-2800Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI1598268FDA applicationNDA206321Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
- Current shortage Limited availabilityVICTOZAfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 08/25/2026 · (Revised)FDA-stated reason: Delay in shipping of the drugFDA guidance: Estimated shortage duration: TBDPresentationVictoza®, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0169-4060-13)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerNovo NordiskTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0169-4060-13Product NDC0169-4060Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI897122FDA applicationNDA022341Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
- Current shortage AvailableLIRAGLUTIDEfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 08/25/2026 · (Revised)FDA guidance: Distributed by TevaPresentationLiraglutide, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0480-3667-20)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerTeva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.Therapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0480-3667-20Product NDC0480-3667Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI897122FDA applicationNDA022341Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
- Current shortage AvailableLIRAGLUTIDEfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 08/25/2026 · (Revised)FDA guidance: Distributed by TevaPresentationLiraglutide, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0480-3667-22)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerTeva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.Therapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0480-3667-22Product NDC0480-3667Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI897122FDA applicationNDA022341Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
- Current shortage Limited availabilitySAXENDAfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 08/25/2026 · (Revised)FDA-stated reason: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugFDA guidance: Product will be available until discontinuation in January 2027 More from FDAPresentationSaxenda®, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0169-2800-15)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerNovo Nordisk Pharmaceutical Industries, LPTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0169-2800-15Product NDC0169-2800Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI1598268FDA applicationNDA206321Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
- Current shortage Limited availabilityVICTOZAfirst posted 07/18/2023 · updated 08/17/2026 · (Revised)FDA-stated reason: Delay in shipping of the drugFDA guidance: Estimated shortage duration: TBDPresentationVictoza®, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0169-4060-12)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerNovo NordiskTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0169-4060-12Product NDC0169-4060Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI897122FDA applicationNDA022341Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedLIRAGLUTIDEfirst posted 05/14/2026 · updated 05/14/2026 · (New) · discontinued 05/14/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugPresentationLiraglutide, Injection, 6 mg/1 mL (NDC 0480-7250-46)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyTeva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.ManufacturerTeva Pharmaceuticals, Inc.Therapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classGLP-1 Receptor Agonist [EPC]MechanismGlucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists [MoA]Package NDC0480-7250-46Product NDC0480-7250Active substanceLIRAGLUTIDEUNII839I73S42ARxCUI2735350FDA applicationANDA214568Contact888-838-2872FDA labelView FDA label
Pramlintide
2 record(s): 0 current, 2 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedSYMLINPENfirst posted 10/27/2025 · updated 10/27/2025 · (New) · discontinued 10/27/2025FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug.PresentationSymlinPen® 60 , Injection, 1000 ug/1 mL (NDC 0310-6615-02)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyAstraZeneca ABManufacturerAstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LPTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismPackage NDC0310-6615-02Product NDC0310-6615Active substancePRAMLINTIDE ACETATEUNII726I6TE06GRxCUI861042FDA applicationNDA021332Contact800-236-9933FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedSYMLINPENfirst posted 10/27/2025 · updated 10/27/2025 · (New) · discontinued 10/27/2025FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug.PresentationSymlinPen® 120 , Injection, 1000 ug/1 mL (NDC 0310-6627-02)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyAstraZeneca ABManufacturerAstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LPTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismPackage NDC0310-6627-02Product NDC0310-6627Active substancePRAMLINTIDE ACETATEUNII726I6TE06GRxCUI861042FDA applicationNDA021332Contact800-236-9933FDA labelView FDA label
Insulin
7 record(s): 0 current, 7 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedINSULIN LISPRO PROTAMINE AND INSULIN LISPRO INJECTABLE SUSPENSION MIX75/25 KWIKPENfirst posted 09/01/2026 · updated 09/01/2026 · (New) · discontinued 09/01/2026FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. Distribution projected to end June 2027. If patients or prescribers have any questions, the Lilly Answers Center (1-800-545-5979) is available Monday through Friday from 9am to 8pm for assistance.PresentationHumalog Mix 75/25, Injection, 100 [iU]/1 mL (NDC 0002-8233-05)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyEli Lilly and Co.ManufacturerEli Lilly and CompanyTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classInsulin Analog [EPC]Package NDC0002-8233-05Product NDC0002-8233Active substanceINSULIN LISPROUNIIGFX7QIS1IIRxCUI847252FDA applicationBLA021017Contact800-545-5979FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedINSULIN LISPRO JUNIOR KWIKPENfirst posted 09/01/2026 · updated 09/01/2026 · (New) · discontinued 09/01/2026FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. Distribution projected to end June 2027. If patients or prescribers have any questions, the Lilly Answers Center (1-800-545-5979) is available Monday through Friday from 9am to 8pm for assistance.PresentationInsulin Lispro Junior KwikPen, Injection, 100 [iU]/1 mL (NDC 0002-7752-05)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyEli Lilly and Co.ManufacturerEli Lilly and CompanyTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classInsulin Analog [EPC]Package NDC0002-7752-05Product NDC0002-7752Active substanceINSULIN LISPROUNIIGFX7QIS1IIRxCUI242120FDA applicationBLA020563Contact800-545-5979FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedREZVOGLAR KWIKPENfirst posted 09/01/2026 · updated 09/01/2026 · (New) · discontinued 09/01/2026FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug. Distribution projected to end June 2027. If patients or prescribers have any questions, the Lilly Answers Center (1-800-545-5979) is available Monday through Friday from 9am to 8pm for assistance.PresentationRezvoglar, Injection, 100 [iU]/1 mL (NDC 0002-8980-05)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyEli Lilly and Co.ManufacturerEli Lilly and CompanyTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classInsulin Analog [EPC]Package NDC0002-8980-05Product NDC0002-8980Active substanceINSULIN GLARGINEUNII2ZM8CX04RZRxCUI2589008FDA applicationBLA761215Contact800-545-5979FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedInsulin Glargine Injectionfirst posted 10/24/2025 · updated 10/24/2025 · (New) · discontinued 10/24/2025FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug.PresentationBasaglar, Injection, U-100 Tempo Pen (NDC 0002-8214-05)Dosage formInjectionCompanyEli Lilly and Co.Therapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismPackage NDC0002-8214-05Contact800-545-5979
- To be discontinuedLYUMJEV TEMPO PENfirst posted 10/24/2025 · updated 10/24/2025 · (New) · discontinued 10/24/2025FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug.PresentationLyumjev, Injection, U-100 Tempo Pen Sample (NDC 0002-8235-99)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyEli Lilly and Co.ManufacturerEli Lilly and CompanyTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classInsulin Analog [EPC]Package NDC0002-8235-99Product NDC0002-8235Active substanceINSULIN LISPROUNIIGFX7QIS1IIRxCUI2380231FDA applicationBLA761109Contact800-545-5979FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedLYUMJEV TEMPO PENfirst posted 10/24/2025 · updated 10/24/2025 · (New) · discontinued 10/24/2025FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug.PresentationLyumjev, Injection, U-100 Tempo Pen (NDC 0002-8235-05)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyEli Lilly and Co.ManufacturerEli Lilly and CompanyTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classInsulin Analog [EPC]Package NDC0002-8235-05Product NDC0002-8235Active substanceINSULIN LISPROUNIIGFX7QIS1IIRxCUI2380231FDA applicationBLA761109Contact800-545-5979FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedHUMALOG TEMPO PENfirst posted 10/24/2025 · updated 10/24/2025 · (New) · discontinued 10/24/2025FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug.PresentationHumalog, Injection, U-100 Tempo Pen (NDC 0002-8213-05)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyEli Lilly and Co.ManufacturerEli Lilly and CompanyTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classInsulin Analog [EPC]Package NDC0002-8213-05Product NDC0002-8213Active substanceINSULIN LISPROUNIIGFX7QIS1IIRxCUI242120FDA applicationBLA020563Contact800-545-5979FDA labelView FDA label
Hormone and endocrine peptides
Prescription peptide hormones; shortages here push patients toward compounded or grey-market sources.
Somatropin
1 record(s): 0 current, 1 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedNORDITROPINfirst posted 11/14/2025 · updated 11/14/2025 · (New) · discontinued 11/14/2025FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugPresentationNorditropin, Injection, 30 mg/3 mL (NDC 0169-7703-21)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyNovo Nordisk, Inc.ManufacturerNovo NordiskTherapeutic categoryEndocrinology/MetabolismDrug classRecombinant Human Growth Hormone [EPC]Package NDC0169-7703-21Product NDC0169-7703Active substanceSOMATROPINUNIINQX9KB6PCLRxCUI847243FDA applicationBLA021148Contact833-493-4689FDA labelView FDA label
Desmopressin
4 record(s): 4 current, 0 to be discontinued · 1 available, 3 unavailable- Current shortage AvailableDesmopressin Acetate Sprayfirst posted 03/12/2021 · updated 09/16/2026 · (Revised)PresentationDesmopressin Acetate (needs No Refrigeration), Spray, 10 ug (NDC 60505-0815-0)Dosage formSprayCompanyApotex Corp.Therapeutic categoryHematologyPackage NDC60505-0815-0Contact800-706-5575
- Current shortage UnavailableDesmopressin Acetate Sprayfirst posted 03/12/2021 · updated 05/01/2026 · (Reverified)FDA-stated reason: Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practicesFDA guidance: Estimated recovery: TBDPresentationStimate, Spray, 1.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 0053-6871-00)Dosage formSprayCompanyFerringTherapeutic categoryHematologyPackage NDC0053-6871-00Contact888-337-7464
- Current shortage UnavailableDesmopressin Acetate Sprayfirst posted 03/12/2021 · updated 05/01/2026 · (Reverified)FDA-stated reason: Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practicesFDA guidance: Estimated recovery: TBDPresentationDdavp, Spray, .1 ug/1 mL (NDC 55566-2500-0)Dosage formSprayCompanyFerringTherapeutic categoryHematologyPackage NDC55566-2500-0Contact888-337-7464
- Current shortage UnavailableDesmopressin Acetate Sprayfirst posted 03/12/2021 · updated 05/01/2026 · (Reverified)FDA-stated reason: Requirements related to complying with good manufacturing practicesFDA guidance: Estimated recovery: TBDPresentationDesmopressin Acetate, Spray, 10 ug/.1 mL (NDC 69918-501-05)Dosage formSprayCompanyFerringTherapeutic categoryHematologyPackage NDC69918-501-05Contact888-337-7464
Other therapeutic peptides
Approved peptide drugs outside the metabolic and endocrine classes.
Icatibant
2 record(s): 0 current, 2 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedICATIBANTfirst posted 05/07/2026 · updated 05/07/2026 · (New) · discontinued 05/07/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacturer of the drugPresentationIcatibant Acetate, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-574-86)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyFresenius Kabi USA, LLCManufacturerFresenius Kabi USA, LLCTherapeutic categoryHematologyPackage NDC63323-574-86Product NDC63323-574Active substanceICATIBANT ACETATEUNII325O8467XKRxCUI1148141FDA applicationANDA208317Contact847-550-2300FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedICATIBANTfirst posted 05/07/2026 · updated 05/07/2026 · (New) · discontinued 05/07/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacturer of the drugPresentationIcatibant Acetate, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-574-93)Dosage formInjectionRouteSUBCUTANEOUSCompanyFresenius Kabi USA, LLCManufacturerFresenius Kabi USA, LLCTherapeutic categoryHematologyPackage NDC63323-574-93Product NDC63323-574Active substanceICATIBANT ACETATEUNII325O8467XKRxCUI1148141FDA applicationANDA208317Contact847-550-2300FDA labelView FDA label
Peptide antibiotics and antifungals
Glycopeptide, lipopeptide and echinocandin drugs, peptides by structure and frequently in shortage.
Vancomycin
1 record(s): 0 current, 1 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedVancomycin Hydrochloride Injectionfirst posted 11/14/2025 · updated 11/14/2025 · (New) · discontinued 11/14/2025FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugPresentationVancomycin Hydrochloride, Injection, 10 g Vial NovaPlus (NDC 0409-5017-01)Dosage formInjectionCompanyHospira, Inc., a Pfizer CompanyTherapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC0409-5017-01Contact844-646-4398
Daptomycin
2 record(s): 0 current, 2 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedDaptomycin Injectionfirst posted 06/30/2026 · updated 06/30/2026 · (New) · discontinued 06/30/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug; Marketed by Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc.PresentationDaptomycin, Injection, 500 mg/10 mL (NDC 0143-9378-01)Dosage formInjectionCompanyJiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals Co. (US Agent eVenus Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc.)Therapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC0143-9378-01Contact609-395-8625 ext. 203
- To be discontinuedDaptomycin Injectionfirst posted 06/30/2026 · updated 06/30/2026 · (New) · discontinued 06/30/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugPresentationDaptomycin, Injection, 500 mg/10 mL (NDC 57884-3151-1)Dosage formInjectionCompanyJiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals Co. (US Agent eVenus Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc.)Therapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC57884-3151-1Contact609-395-8625 ext. 203
Bacitracin
1 record(s): 1 current, 0 to be discontinued · 1 unavailable- Current shortage UnavailableBacitracin Ophthalmic Ointmentfirst posted 03/03/2025 · updated 06/01/2026 · (Revised)FDA-stated reason: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugFDA guidance: Shortage is estimated for 24 monthsPresentationBacitracin, Ophthalmic Ointment, 3.5 g (NDC 0574-4022-35)Dosage formOphthalmic OintmentCompanyPadagis US LLCTherapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC0574-4022-35Contact866-634-9120
Caspofungin
3 record(s): 0 current, 3 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedCASPOFUNGIN ACETATEfirst posted 06/30/2026 · updated 06/30/2026 · (New) · discontinued 06/30/2026FDA guidance: Marketed by Sandoz, Inc.; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugPresentationCaspofungin Acetate, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 0781-3421-94)Dosage formInjectionRouteINTRAVENOUSCompanyJiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals Co. (US Agent eVenus Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc.)ManufacturerSandoz IncTherapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC0781-3421-94Product NDC0781-3421Active substanceCASPOFUNGIN ACETATEUNIIVUW370O5QERxCUI828539FDA applicationANDA200833ContactSandoz: 800-525-8747FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedCASPOFUNGIN ACETATEfirst posted 06/30/2026 · updated 06/30/2026 · (New) · discontinued 06/30/2026FDA guidance: Marketed by Sandoz, Inc.; Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugPresentationCaspofungin Acetate, Injection, 7 mg/1 mL (NDC 0781-3423-94)Dosage formInjectionRouteINTRAVENOUSCompanyJiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals Co. (US Agent eVenus Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Inc.)ManufacturerSandoz IncTherapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC0781-3423-94Product NDC0781-3423Active substanceCASPOFUNGIN ACETATEUNIIVUW370O5QERxCUI828539FDA applicationANDA200833ContactSandoz: 800-525-8747FDA labelView FDA label
- To be discontinuedCASPOFUNGIN ACETATEfirst posted 01/12/2026 · updated 01/12/2026 · (New) · discontinued 01/12/2026FDA guidance: Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drugPresentationCaspofungin Acetate, Injection, 7 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-358-10)Dosage formInjectionRouteINTRAVENOUSCompanyFresenius Kabi USA, LLCManufacturerFresenius Kabi USA, LLCTherapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC63323-358-10Product NDC63323-358Active substanceCASPOFUNGIN ACETATEUNIIVUW370O5QERxCUI828539FDA applicationNDA206110Contact888-386-1300FDA labelView FDA label
Micafungin
2 record(s): 0 current, 2 to be discontinued · availability not stated- To be discontinuedMicafungin Sodium Injectionfirst posted 09/11/2026 · updated 09/11/2026 · (New) · discontinued 09/11/2026FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug.PresentationMicafungin Sodium, Injection, 10 mg/1 mL (NDC 42023-229-10)Dosage formInjectionCompanyPar Health, USA LLCTherapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC42023-229-10Contact800-828-9393
- To be discontinuedMicafungin Sodium Injectionfirst posted 09/11/2026 · updated 09/11/2026 · (New) · discontinued 09/11/2026FDA guidance: A business decision was made to discontinue manufacture of the drug.PresentationMicafungin Sodium, Injection, 20 mg/1 mL (NDC 42023-230-10)Dosage formInjectionCompanyPar Health, USA LLCTherapeutic categoryAnti-InfectivePackage NDC42023-230-10Contact800-828-9393
Why shortage status matters legally
While the FDA lists a drug as in shortage, licensed 503A pharmacies and 503B outsourcing facilities may compound copies of it. When the FDA marks the shortage resolved, that permission ends.
This is the legal basis for compounded semaglutide (not FDA-approved, not a generic of Wegovy® or Ozempic®, and not evaluated by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality). A shortage list that is out of date is not just stale. It can be wrong about what is currently lawful to compound.
Frequently asked questions
Is this shortage list current?
Yes. This page reads the U.S. Food and Drug Administration drug shortage database and was last updated on 2026-09-23. The FDA updates its list continuously and this page refreshes from that source.
What is the difference between status and availability?
Status is where the product sits in the FDA shortage process: a current shortage, a product the manufacturer plans to stop making, or a resolved shortage. Availability is what supply looks like right now: available, limited, or unavailable. A product can carry a current shortage status while some presentations are still available.
What does “to be discontinued” mean?
It means the manufacturer has told the FDA it plans to stop making that specific product. It is not the same as an active current shortage.
Does a shortage make compounding legal?
While a drug is on the FDA shortage list, licensed 503A pharmacies and 503B facilities may compound copies of it under federal rules. That permission ends when the FDA marks the shortage resolved.
Why are GLP-1 drugs like semaglutide on this list?
Demand for GLP-1 medicines has been high. Shortage status for these drugs is what allowed compounded semaglutide (not FDA-approved, not a generic of Wegovy® or Ozempic®, and not evaluated by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or quality) to be produced, so their FDA status matters for what is lawful.
Where does this data come from?
The openFDA drug shortages API, a public database published by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Every field shown on this page, including the stated reason, availability, revision history and product identifiers, comes directly from that source.
Source: openFDA drug shortages API, U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 1601 shortage records scanned. Last updated 2026-09-23. Do not rely on this page to make decisions regarding medical care; always speak to your health provider about the risks and benefits of FDA-regulated products.